The Priviledge of a Lifetime is Being Who you Are. ~Joseph Campbell

So…it’s 2am and I am on day 2 of my last week of night-shifts. As I work dutifully to keep myself entertained (aka awake), I find myself pondering over the last couple of weeks and the weeks to come. I look at the calendar and count out the days. 18 days left on the East coast. Wow. It’s an interesting sensation to be so excited and so nervous all at the same time. I have finally resigned from my job (insert sound of ‘crowd going wild’ here). Apartment and moving arrangements are falling into place. Cross-country road trip plans are in the works. And the endeavor of sorting and packing has begun. Still, there are so many things to think about: people to see, loose ends to tie up, upcoming school assignments, and the ever looming question of future employment.

While I have faith that things will work out, that last one has been a hurdle for me. It will be my first time venturing outside the steady paycheck bubble. And yet, while notably nerve wrecking, I also find it liberating. I feel free. Free to take on a job purely for the sake of being passionate about it, not just for the money. Free to do something that is authentically me, not something I started because I felt I had too. This move has been in the works for quite some time. I’m not quite there yet, but I’m determined. I believe that’s where it starts…having the courage to be who you are.

We need to have the courage to set ourselves free.

This entry was posted in MindSet, Purpose, Self Actualization, Self Discovery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Priviledge of a Lifetime is Being Who you Are. ~Joseph Campbell

  1. shawnreeder says:

    Stoked for you Torrie!!! Where you moving to???

  2. tbeedle says:

    Thanks Shawn! I’m moving to Oakland, CA. I start driving out on the 13/14th. I’ll writing about my cross-country driving adventures here if you’re interested. Hope to see you again soon!! Be well!

  3. emilyrowan says:

    there’s a love connection involved ( I’m guessinf FS ???)…love makes all things easier and worth the hurdels

  4. april says:

    feeling privileged…in love with life! thanks for writing this… can’t wait to see you!

  5. tbeedle says:

    Love does make things easier and worth the hurdles. 🙂

Leave a Reply

